Wednesday, May 6, 2015

2015 Locus Award Finalist

Before the rundowns, Locus Awards are an annual set of literary award by the science fiction and fantasy focused magazine, Locus. The award winner are selected by poll of magazine reader. The awards already inaugurated in 1971 for publication year 1970. It's original purpose was to influence the Hugo Awards.

So, here are the 2015 Locus Award Finalist:

Science Fiction Novel
The Peripheral by William Gibson
Ancillary Sword by Ann Leckie
The Three-Body Problem by Cixin Liu
Lock In by John Scalzi
Annihilation/Authority/Acceptance by Jeff VanderMeer

Fantasy Novel
The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison
Steles of the Sky by Elizabeth Bear
City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett
The Magician's Land by Lev Grossman
The Mirror Empire by Kameron Hurley

Young Adult Book
Half A King by Joe Abercrombie
The Doubt Factory by Paolo Bacigalupi
Waistcoats & Weaponry by Gail Carriger
Empress of the Sun by Ian McDonald
Clariel by Garth Nix

First Novel
Elysium by Jennifer Marie Brissett
A Darkling Sea by James L. Cambias
The Clockwork Dagger by Beth Cato
The Memory Garden by Mary Rickert
The Emperor's Blade by Brian Staveley

The Man Who Sold The Moon by Cory Doctorow
We Are All Completely Fine by Daryl Gregory
Yesterday's Kin by Nancy Kress
The Regular by Ken Liu
The Lightning Tree by Patrick Rothfuss

Tough Time All Over by Joe Abercrombie
The Hand Is Quicker by Elizabeth Bear
Memorials by Aliette de Bodard
The Jar of Water by Ursula K. Le Guin
A Year and A Day in Old Theradane by Scott Lynch

Short Story
Covenant by Elizabeth Bear
The Dust Queen by Aliette de Bodard
The Truth About Owls by Amal El-Mohtar
In Babelsberg by Alastair Reynolds
Ogres of East Africa by Sofia Samatar